Peptide Decoding
Two peptide vials side by side on a dark surface
Step 02 / Compare

Compare peptides side by side

Type two or more compounds the way you'd type them into Google. Spelling doesn't have to be right.

2/4

Separate them with vs, a comma, or +. Up to 4 compounds.

Try

Tamoxifen and Toremifene are each a small molecule rather than a peptide.

/compare/tamoxifen-vs-toremifene
ComparisonTamoxifen
tamoxifen citrate · Nolvadex
Toremifene
toremifene citrate · Fareston
How it works
How it works

Tamoxifen does not lower estrogen. It changes what estrogen is able to do, and the answer differs by tissue.

How it works

Toremifene has two separate actions, and only one of them is the point.

What it is
A breast cancer drug with a boxed warning, sold as a gyno fix.
A SERM with a boxed warning for a heart rhythm that can kill.
Status
FDA approvedFDA-approved
FDA approvedFDA-approved
Typical dose
20–40 mg per day
60 mg per day
single fixed dose
How often
Daily
Daily
Stays active
Long, on the order of days
About 5 days
Dose comes from
FDA drug label
FDA drug label
Cycled?
Continuous, for years at a time in the trials FDA drug label
Continuous, until the disease progresses FDA drug label
What it does
Drug class
SERM (oral, not a peptide)
SERM (oral, not a peptide)
Used for
A long-established breast cancer drug used on the research market to prevent or reverse breast tissue growth in men.
A tamoxifen alternative sold on the research market for gynecomastia and post-cycle use, with a heart rhythm warning tamoxifen does not carry.
Receptors hit
Numbers
Full dose line
20 up to 40 mg per day
60 mg per day
Why that cycle
The risk-reduction indication runs 20 mg daily for five years without a break, and the adjuvant use runs for years. Nothing in the evidence base supports the short on-and-off courses used after an anabolic cycle, and nothing in it measures what those courses do.
The label runs it daily with no planned break and no defined stopping point other than disease progression. Nothing studies the short courses it is sold for.
Weight / effect
Not measured in a trial
Not measured in a trial
Chain length
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Common vial
Before you start
Route
By mouth (oral)
By mouth (oral)
Do not use if
Taking warfarin, if the reason for treatment is breast cancer risk reduction
A history of deep vein thrombosis or pulmonary embolism, in the same setting
Pregnancy
Known hypersensitivity to tamoxifen
Banned in drug-tested sport
Congenital or acquired long QT syndrome
Uncorrected low potassium or low magnesium
Taking any other drug that prolongs the QT interval
Taking a strong CYP3A4 inhibitor, and grapefruit juice should also be avoided
Pregnancy
Banned in drug-tested sport

What people actually report

Tamoxifen

  • It carries a boxed warning for uterine cancer, stroke and pulmonary embolism, and fatal cases of each have occurred.
  • It acts like estrogen in the uterus while blocking it in breast tissue, which is where the cancer risk comes from.
  • Cataract formation and cataract surgery were both more common on tamoxifen in the prevention trial.
  • Banned in drug-tested sport at all times.
Stop and get help if
  • Sudden shortness of breath, chest pain, or swelling and pain in one leg
  • Weakness or numbness on one side, trouble speaking, or a sudden severe headache

Toremifene

  • It carries a boxed warning for QT prolongation, which can lead to torsades de pointes and to fainting, seizure or death.
  • The effect gets larger as the dose and the blood level go up.
  • The label requires low potassium or low magnesium to be corrected before starting, and monitored afterwards.
  • Banned in drug-tested sport at all times.
Stop and get help if
  • Fainting, near-fainting, or a racing or pounding heartbeat
  • A seizure

Side effects are what users and trials report most often, not a complete list. Anything sudden, spreading, or breathing-related is an emergency regardless of which compound caused it.

People also compare

This comparison does not cover cost, long-term safety, or how you personally will respond. Effect figures come from separate trials in different populations and are not always directly comparable to each other. Nothing here is medical advice or a recommendation to use any of these. Talk to a clinician about your own situation.

The published record

What Europe PMC and ClinicalTrials.gov hold for each, on the same rule.

Tamoxifen has 500 records to Toremifene's 441. 181 original human studies against 216. Tamoxifen has 682 registered trials to Toremifene's 41.

The published record

Research index

29,696

Records indexed for Tamoxifen400 papers and 100 trials indexed in detail.

299 in humans, 181 of them original studies.

682 registered trials, 27 with posted results among the 100 indexed.

Browse the records

In animalsPro
In the labPro
ReviewsPro
Senior author sharePro

Counted from Europe PMC indexing, not read by a person. Human means indexed under humans, which includes reviews and work on human cells. Original studies exclude reviews and lab work on human cells.Last updated 11 September 2026.

The published record

Research index

883

Records indexed for Toremifene400 papers and 41 trials indexed in detail.

310 in humans, 216 of them original studies.

41 registered trials, 2 with posted results.

Browse the records

In animalsPro
In the labPro
ReviewsPro
Senior author sharePro

Counted from Europe PMC indexing, not read by a person. Human means indexed under humans, which includes reviews and work on human cells. Original studies exclude reviews and lab work on human cells.Last updated 11 September 2026.

Commonly confused peptides

Long-form breakdowns of the pairs people confuse most, traced to primary sources.

Growth hormone

HGH vs Sermorelin

Distributing HGH for anti-aging is a federal felony carrying five years. Sermorelin lost to it commercially in 2008 and can still be legally compounded.

Read comparison ›
Muscle

IGF-1 LR3 vs IGF-1 DES

Neither has a single published human trial, and sources give LR3's half-life as anywhere from 6 to 30 hours. There is an FDA approved IGF-1, and it is neither of these.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

Thymosin Alpha-1 vs LL-37

One is approved in 35 countries and its largest trial found nothing. The other has never been injected in a published study.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Cagrilintide vs Semaglutide

Both were tested in the same trial, in the same people, over the same 68 weeks. Semaglutide won on weight, and the combination beat both while coming in below their sum.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Retatrutide vs Tirzepatide

Retatrutide's 28.3 percent is being set against tirzepatide's 22.5 percent. Different trials, different lengths, and one of the numbers comes from a press release.

Read comparison ›
Sexual and hormonal

PT-141 vs Kisspeptin

Both are sold for sex. One works on desire and is FDA approved, the other works on hormones and stops working within two weeks.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

MOTS-c vs SS-31

One has an FDA approval and a failed Phase 3. The other has never been given to a person in a published study.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Tesamorelin vs CJC-1295

Two GHRH analogs tested for the same condition. One completed two Phase 3 trials and got approved. The other's Phase 2 was halted in 2006 and never restarted.

Read comparison ›
Skin and repair

Melanotan I vs Melanotan II

Not two versions of one compound. One is an FDA approved implant for a rare disease, the other is approved nowhere and warned against by four regulators.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

Epitalon vs MOTS-c

Two longevity peptides with no published human trial between them. Epitalon's famous human data belongs to a bovine extract, and MOTS-c is something your body already makes.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

Glutathione vs NAD+

Both are sold as injections. NAD+ cannot enter cells intact, and a six month trial found oral glutathione raising body stores the injection is meant to fix.

Read comparison ›
Cognitive and mood

Semax vs Selank

Same Russian lab, same seven amino acids, built for different problems: Semax for alertness, Selank for anxiety.

Read comparison ›
Skin and repair

GHK-Cu vs Matrixyl

Two topical skin peptides with very different evidence: one carries copper, one carries a fat tail, and the most sold version of Matrixyl is built on the same tripeptide as GHK-Cu.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

BPC-157 vs TB-500

Both are sold for tendon and muscle repair. BPC-157's human trials were enemas for ulcerative colitis, and TB-500's trials did not even use TB-500.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

CJC-1295 with DAC vs without DAC

One name, two drugs: one has a measured half-life and three published human trials, the other has never been tested in a person.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Ipamorelin vs CJC-1295

They act on different receptors and are usually sold in the same vial. Each has human trials; the combination everyone buys has none.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

MK-677 vs Ipamorelin

Same receptor, a pill against an injection. MK-677 has far more human data, and that is exactly why we know more about what is wrong with it.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

KLOW vs GLOW

These are not two products. One contains the other: KLOW is GLOW plus KPV, and neither blend has ever been tested as a blend.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Sermorelin vs Ipamorelin

Two growth hormone peptides sold side by side. One was an approved drug and can still be compounded on prescription. The other was voted down in October 2024.

Read comparison ›

19 published

Compare is one of four tools on the site. See all tools.