Peptide Decoding
Two peptide vials side by side on a dark surface
Step 02 / Compare

Compare peptides side by side

Type two or more compounds the way you'd type them into Google. Spelling doesn't have to be right.

2/4

Separate them with vs, a comma, or +. Up to 4 compounds.

Try

Cabergoline and Toremifene are each a small molecule rather than a peptide.

/compare/cabergoline-vs-toremifene
ComparisonCabergoline
Dostinex · Caber
Toremifene
toremifene citrate · Fareston
How it works
How it works

Prolactin is held down by dopamine. Cabergoline supplies a long-lasting dopamine signal.

How it works

Toremifene has two separate actions, and only one of them is the point.

What it is
A prolactin drug whose label asks for an echocardiogram before the first dose.
A SERM with a boxed warning for a heart rhythm that can kill.
Status
FDA approvedFDA-approved
FDA approvedFDA-approved
Typical dose
0.25–1 mg per dose
60 mg per day
single fixed dose
How often
Twice a week
Daily
Stays active
63 to 69 hours
3 to 7 days
Dose comes from
FDA drug label
FDA drug label
Cycled?
Continuous, with the dose reassessed rather than paused FDA drug label
Continuous, until the disease progresses FDA drug label
What it does
Drug class
Ergot dopamine agonist (oral, not a peptide)
SERM (oral, not a peptide)
Used for
A prescription drug that lowers prolactin. On the research market it is used during a cycle, and for its effect on libido.
A tamoxifen alternative sold on the research market for gynecomastia and post-cycle use, with a heart rhythm warning tamoxifen does not carry.
Receptors hit
—
—
Numbers
Full dose line
0.25 up to 1 mg per dose, twice a week
60 mg per day
Why that cycle
The label says to use the lowest effective dose and to reassess periodically whether treatment should continue, and to check prolactin after stopping to see whether it needs restarting. That is dose management rather than cycling. The valve monitoring interval of 6 to 12 months applies for as long as it is taken.
The label runs it daily with no planned break and no defined stopping point other than disease progression. Nothing studies the short courses it is sold for.
Weight / effect
Not measured in a trial
Not measured in a trial
Chain length
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Common vial
—
—
Before you start
Route
By mouth (oral)
By mouth (oral)
Do not use if
Any existing heart valve disease, including valve leaflet thickening seen on an echocardiogram
A history of pericardial, pleural, pulmonary or retroperitoneal fibrosis
Uncontrolled high blood pressure
Known hypersensitivity to ergot derivatives
Suppressing milk production after birth, which the label advises against
Congenital or acquired long QT syndrome
Uncorrected low potassium or low magnesium
Taking any other drug that prolongs the QT interval
Taking a strong CYP3A4 inhibitor, and grapefruit juice should also be avoided
Pregnancy
Banned in drug-tested sport

What people actually report

Cabergoline

  • The label asks for an echocardiogram before the first dose, and every 6 to 12 months after it, to look for heart valve damage.
  • Existing valve disease is a contraindication, not a caution.
  • It is an ergot derivative, and fibrosis of the heart, lungs, chest lining and abdomen have all been reported.
  • Compulsive behavior including gambling and hypersexuality is a documented class effect of dopamine agonists.
Stop and get help if
  • Shortness of breath, difficulty breathing when lying flat, or swelling in the legs
  • Chest pain, or a persistent cough

Toremifene

  • It carries a boxed warning for QT prolongation, which can lead to torsades de pointes and to fainting, seizure or death.
  • The effect gets larger as the dose and the blood level go up.
  • The label requires low potassium or low magnesium to be corrected before starting, and monitored afterward.
  • Banned in drug-tested sport at all times.
Stop and get help if
  • Fainting, near-fainting, or a racing or pounding heartbeat
  • A seizure

Side effects are what users and trials report most often, not a complete list. Anything sudden, spreading, or breathing-related is an emergency regardless of which compound caused it.

People also compare

This comparison does not cover cost, long-term safety, or how you personally will respond. Effect figures come from separate trials in different populations and are not always directly comparable to each other. Nothing here is medical advice or a recommendation to use any of these. Talk to a clinician about your own situation.

Commonly confused peptides

Long-form breakdowns of the pairs people confuse most, traced to primary sources.

Metabolic and weight loss

Semaglutide vs Tirzepatide vs Retatrutide

One head-to-head trial, three pivotal trials, and why their headline weight-loss figures are not directly comparable.

Read comparison ›
Skin and repair

GHK vs GHK-Cu

The same sequence, with or without copper: topical trial evidence, formulation caveats and the research-vial market.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Semaglutide vs Liraglutide

In STEP 8, semaglutide produced more weight loss than liraglutide; liraglutide offers generic availability and daily dosing.

Read comparison ›
Muscle

Follistatin vs ACE-031

ACE-031 built muscle but was stopped for vascular side effects. Follistatin protein has not been tested by injection in people.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Liraglutide vs Semaglutide vs Tirzepatide vs Retatrutide

One receptor, then two, then three, and the numbers climb with them. Only two of the three steps have a head to head behind them.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

HGH vs Sermorelin

Distributing HGH for anti-aging is a federal felony carrying five years. Sermorelin lost to it commercially in 2008 and can still be legally compounded.

Read comparison ›
Muscle

IGF-1 LR3 vs IGF-1 DES

Neither has a single published human trial, and sources give LR3's half-life as anywhere from 6 to 30 hours. There is an FDA approved IGF-1, and it is neither of these.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

Thymosin Alpha-1 vs LL-37

One is approved in 35 countries and its largest trial found nothing. The other has never been injected in a published study.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Cagrilintide vs Semaglutide

Both were tested in the same trial, in the same people, over the same 68 weeks. Semaglutide won on weight, and the combination beat both while coming in below their sum.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Petrelintide vs Semaglutide

Semaglutide produced 16.9 percent in STEP 1 against petrelintide's 10.7 in ZUPREME-1. Petrelintide's case is tolerability: no vomiting at its best dose, and no added dropouts over placebo.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Semaglutide vs Tirzepatide

Tirzepatide won the head-to-head at 20.2 percent against 13.7. The 47 percent figure everyone quotes is relative; the absolute gap is 6.5 points, from an open-label trial.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Retatrutide vs Tirzepatide

Retatrutide's 28.3 percent is being set against tirzepatide's 22.5 percent. Different trials, different lengths, and no trial yet comparing the two directly.

Read comparison ›
Sexual and hormonal

PT-141 vs Kisspeptin

Both are sold for sex. One works on desire and is FDA approved, the other works on hormones and stops working within two weeks.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

MOTS-c vs SS-31

One has an FDA approval and a failed Phase 3. The other has never been given to a person in a published study.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Tesamorelin vs CJC-1295

Two GHRH analogs tested for the same condition. One completed two Phase 3 trials and got approved. The other's Phase 2 was halted in 2006 and never restarted.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Tesamorelin vs HGH

Both are FDA approved. Tesamorelin asks your pituitary for growth hormone and HGH is the hormone itself, and only one is a felony to distribute off-label.

Read comparison ›
Skin and repair

Melanotan I vs Melanotan II

Not two versions of one compound. One is an FDA approved implant for a rare disease, the other is approved nowhere and warned against by four regulators.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

Epitalon vs MOTS-c

Two longevity peptides with no published human trial between them. Epitalon's famous human data belongs to a bovine extract, and MOTS-c is something your body already makes.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

Glutathione vs NAD+

Both are sold as injections. NAD+ cannot enter cells intact, and a six month trial found oral glutathione raising body stores the injection is meant to fix.

Read comparison ›
Cognitive and mood

Noopept vs Semax

Two Russian medicines no Western regulator has assessed. Semax is a seven amino acid peptide; Noopept is not a peptide at all.

Read comparison ›
Cognitive and mood

Semax vs Selank

Same Russian lab, same seven amino acids, built for different problems: Semax for alertness, Selank for anxiety.

Read comparison ›
Skin and repair

GHK-Cu vs Matrixyl

Two topical skin peptides with very different evidence: one carries copper, one carries a fat tail, and Matrixyl 3000, a widely used formulation, is built on the same tripeptide as GHK-Cu.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

BPC-157 vs TB-500

Both are sold for tendon and muscle repair. BPC-157's human trials were enemas for ulcerative colitis, and TB-500's trials did not even use TB-500.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

BPC-157 vs KPV

BPC-157's Phase 2 results were never published. KPV has no human trial; neither was tested as an injection for the uses it is sold for.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

CJC-1295 with DAC vs without DAC

One name, two drugs: one has a measured half-life and three published human trials, the other has never been tested in a person.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Ipamorelin vs CJC-1295

They act on different receptors and are usually sold in the same vial. Each has human trials; the combination everyone buys has none.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

MK-677 vs Ipamorelin

Same receptor, a pill against an injection. MK-677 has far more human data, and that is exactly why we know more about what is wrong with it.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

KLOW vs GLOW

These are not two products. One contains the other: KLOW is GLOW plus KPV, and neither blend has ever been tested as a blend.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Sermorelin vs Ipamorelin

Two growth hormone peptides sold side by side. One was an approved drug and can still be compounded on prescription. The other was voted down in October 2024.

Read comparison ›
Sexual and hormonal

Enclomiphene vs HCG vs Gonadorelin vs Kisspeptin

Three sit on one hormone chain and the fourth skips it. The one with the best trial evidence was rejected by the FDA in 2015 and abandoned.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

Thymosin Alpha-1 vs Thymosin Beta-4 vs TB-500

Two are unrelated proteins sharing a name by accident. The third is seven amino acids taken from the second, and no trial has injected any of them.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

NAD+ vs NMN vs NR

Three points on one pathway: compare cellular uptake, human evidence and changing supplement rules.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Sermorelin vs Tesamorelin vs Ipamorelin vs CJC-1295

Three act on the GHRH receptor and one copies ghrelin. Only tesamorelin is approved, and the two with the weakest outcome data were both voted down by the FDA in late 2024.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

GLP-1 agonists compared

Twenty compounds act on the GLP-1 receptor. Eight are FDA approved. Most trial doses are not the same thing as a label dose. Here is what separates them.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

CT-388 vs Zovaglutide

Weekly dual-receptor CT-388 and monthly GLP-1 zovaglutide have not been compared head to head; their trial results use different measures and follow-up periods.

Read comparison ›
Muscle

ACE-031 vs GDF-8

Not two alternatives: ACE-031 is a drug built to neutralise GDF-8, the protein better known as myostatin. One has human trial data; the other is the brake itself.

Read comparison ›

36 published

Compare is one of the free tools on the site. See all tools.