Peptide Decoding
Two peptide vials side by side on a dark surface
Step 02 / Compare

Compare peptides side by side

Type two or more compounds the way you'd type them into Google. Spelling doesn't have to be right.

2/4

Separate them with vs, a comma, or +. Up to 4 compounds.

Try

SHLP2 and SHLP6 are each a peptide that works inside your mitochondria.

/compare/shlp2-vs-shlp6
ComparisonSHLP2
small humanin-like peptide 2 · SHLP-2
SHLP6
small humanin-like peptide 6 · SHLP-6
How it works
How it works

SHLP2 comes from the same discovery programme as humanin and MOTS-c, both of which this library already covers.

How it works

The six SHLPs were found together and behave differently, which is the single most useful fact about them.

What it is
A mitochondrial peptide with real published biology and no human dosing behind it.
The sibling of SHLP2, and the one reported to shut blood vessel growth down.
Status
Research only
Research only
Typical dose
How often
Not established
Not established
Stays active
Nothing published
Nothing published
Dose comes from
No established range
No established range
Cycled?
Not established No established range
Not established No established range
What it does
Drug class
Mitochondrial-derived peptide
Mitochondrial-derived peptide
Used for
A mitochondrial peptide researched for insulin sensitivity, mitochondrial function and aging.
A mitochondrial peptide researched for oxidative stress and cell protection.
Receptors hit
Numbers
Full dose line
Research only
Research only
Why that cycle
No schedule has been studied for this compound in people.
No schedule has been studied for this compound in people.
Weight / effect
Not measured in a trial
Not measured in a trial
Chain length
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Common vial
Before you start
Route
Under the skin (subcutaneous)
Under the skin (subcutaneous)
Do not use if
Pregnancy or breastfeeding
Active cancer, as a precaution with anything affecting cell survival signalling
Anyone who wants established safety data, because none exists for this compound in humans
Pregnancy or breastfeeding
Active wound healing or recovery from surgery, given the reported effect on blood vessel formation
Active cancer, without oncology advice
Anyone who wants established safety data, because none exists for this compound in humans

What separates them

Proof behind the dose. Every dose here comes from community practice. Not one is backed by a published human study, which is worth knowing before you read the numbers as if they were equivalent.

What doesn't differ: They are both taken the same way (under the skin), aimed at the same thing (metabolic & aging) and on the same schedule (not established). Neither has a measured effect size from a published trial, so there is no number to rank them on.

Difference map
Each column keeps its compound color below. A shared gray row means the same answer; colored cells show where they split.
SHLP2
SHLP6
PROOF
No established range
No established range

What people actually report

SHLP2

  • All published work is in cells and animals.
  • No human study of administering it has been published.
Stop and get help if
  • Signs of an allergic reaction, including spreading hives, facial or throat swelling, or trouble breathing
  • Redness, heat, or pus at the injection site, which can signal infection

SHLP6

  • All published work is in cells and animals.
  • It has been reported to inhibit new blood vessel formation, which matters if you are healing something.
Stop and get help if
  • Signs of an allergic reaction, including spreading hives, facial or throat swelling, or trouble breathing
  • Redness, heat, or pus at the injection site, which can signal infection

Side effects are what users and trials report most often, not a complete list. Anything sudden, spreading, or breathing-related is an emergency regardless of which compound caused it.

People also compare

This comparison does not cover cost, long-term safety, or how you personally will respond. Effect figures come from separate trials in different populations and are not always directly comparable to each other. Nothing here is medical advice or a recommendation to use any of these. Talk to a clinician about your own situation.

The published record

What Europe PMC and ClinicalTrials.gov hold for each, on the same rule.

SHLP2 has 27 records to SHLP6's 11. 8 original human studies against 3.

The published record

Research index

27

Records indexed for SHLP2

16 in humans, 8 of them original studies.

Browse the records

In animalsPro
In the labPro
ReviewsPro
Senior author sharePro

Counted from Europe PMC indexing, not read by a person. Human means indexed under humans, which includes reviews and work on human cells. Original studies exclude reviews and lab work on human cells.Last updated 12 September 2026.

The published record

Research index

11

Records indexed for SHLP6

6 in humans, 3 of them original studies.

Browse the records

In animalsPro
In the labPro
ReviewsPro
Senior author sharePro

Counted from Europe PMC indexing, not read by a person. Human means indexed under humans, which includes reviews and work on human cells. Original studies exclude reviews and lab work on human cells.Last updated 11 September 2026.

Commonly confused peptides

Long-form breakdowns of the pairs people confuse most, traced to primary sources.

Growth hormone

HGH vs Sermorelin

Distributing HGH for anti-aging is a federal felony carrying five years. Sermorelin lost to it commercially in 2008 and can still be legally compounded.

Read comparison ›
Muscle

IGF-1 LR3 vs IGF-1 DES

Neither has a single published human trial, and sources give LR3's half-life as anywhere from 6 to 30 hours. There is an FDA approved IGF-1, and it is neither of these.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

Thymosin Alpha-1 vs LL-37

One is approved in 35 countries and its largest trial found nothing. The other has never been injected in a published study.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Cagrilintide vs Semaglutide

Both were tested in the same trial, in the same people, over the same 68 weeks. Semaglutide won on weight, and the combination beat both while coming in below their sum.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Retatrutide vs Tirzepatide

Retatrutide's 28.3 percent is being set against tirzepatide's 22.5 percent. Different trials, different lengths, and one of the numbers comes from a press release.

Read comparison ›
Sexual and hormonal

PT-141 vs Kisspeptin

Both are sold for sex. One works on desire and is FDA approved, the other works on hormones and stops working within two weeks.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

MOTS-c vs SS-31

One has an FDA approval and a failed Phase 3. The other has never been given to a person in a published study.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Tesamorelin vs CJC-1295

Two GHRH analogs tested for the same condition. One completed two Phase 3 trials and got approved. The other's Phase 2 was halted in 2006 and never restarted.

Read comparison ›
Skin and repair

Melanotan I vs Melanotan II

Not two versions of one compound. One is an FDA approved implant for a rare disease, the other is approved nowhere and warned against by four regulators.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

Epitalon vs MOTS-c

Two longevity peptides with no published human trial between them. Epitalon's famous human data belongs to a bovine extract, and MOTS-c is something your body already makes.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

Glutathione vs NAD+

Both are sold as injections. NAD+ cannot enter cells intact, and a six month trial found oral glutathione raising body stores the injection is meant to fix.

Read comparison ›
Cognitive and mood

Semax vs Selank

Same Russian lab, same seven amino acids, built for different problems: Semax for alertness, Selank for anxiety.

Read comparison ›
Skin and repair

GHK-Cu vs Matrixyl

Two topical skin peptides with very different evidence: one carries copper, one carries a fat tail, and the most sold version of Matrixyl is built on the same tripeptide as GHK-Cu.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

BPC-157 vs TB-500

Both are sold for tendon and muscle repair. BPC-157's human trials were enemas for ulcerative colitis, and TB-500's trials did not even use TB-500.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

CJC-1295 with DAC vs without DAC

One name, two drugs: one has a measured half-life and three published human trials, the other has never been tested in a person.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Ipamorelin vs CJC-1295

They act on different receptors and are usually sold in the same vial. Each has human trials; the combination everyone buys has none.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

MK-677 vs Ipamorelin

Same receptor, a pill against an injection. MK-677 has far more human data, and that is exactly why we know more about what is wrong with it.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

KLOW vs GLOW

These are not two products. One contains the other: KLOW is GLOW plus KPV, and neither blend has ever been tested as a blend.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Sermorelin vs Ipamorelin

Two growth hormone peptides sold side by side. One was an approved drug and can still be compounded on prescription. The other was voted down in October 2024.

Read comparison ›

19 published

Compare is one of four tools on the site. See all tools.