Peptide Decoding
Two peptide vials side by side on a dark surface
Step 02 / Compare

Compare peptides side by side

Type two or more compounds the way you'd type them into Google. Spelling doesn't have to be right.

2/4

Separate them with vs, a comma, or +. Up to 4 compounds.

Try

Anastrozole and Cabergoline are each a small molecule rather than a peptide.

/compare/anastrozole-vs-cabergoline
ComparisonAnastrozole
Arimidex · ANA
Cabergoline
Dostinex · Caber
How it works
How it works

Anastrozole works upstream of the receptor, on supply rather than on signal.

How it works

Prolactin is held down by dopamine. Cabergoline supplies a long-lasting dopamine signal.

What it is
An aromatase inhibitor approved for postmenopausal breast cancer.
A prolactin drug whose label asks for an echocardiogram before the first dose.
Status
FDA approvedFDA-approved
FDA approvedFDA-approved
Typical dose
1 mg per day
single fixed dose
0.25–1 mg per week
How often
Daily
Twice a week
Stays active
About 47 hours
About 63 to 69 hours
Dose comes from
FDA drug label
FDA drug label
Cycled?
Continuous, for years in the trials FDA drug label
Continuous, with the dose reassessed rather than paused FDA drug label
What it does
Drug class
Aromatase inhibitor (oral, not a peptide)
Ergot dopamine agonist (oral, not a peptide)
Used for
A breast cancer drug used on the research market to hold estrogen down during a testosterone or anabolic cycle.
A prescription drug that lowers prolactin. On the research market it is used during a cycle, and for its effect on libido.
Receptors hit
Numbers
Full dose line
1 mg per day
0.25 up to 1 mg twice a week
Why that cycle
Given daily and without a break for the duration of treatment. The intermittent twice-weekly dosing used alongside testosterone is a community pattern built around symptom control rather than anything from a trial.
The label says to use the lowest effective dose and to reassess periodically whether treatment should continue, and to check prolactin after stopping to see whether it needs restarting. That is dose management rather than cycling. The valve monitoring interval of 6 to 12 months applies for as long as it is taken.
Weight / effect
Not measured in a trial
Not measured in a trial
Chain length
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Common vial
Before you start
Route
By mouth (oral)
By mouth (oral)
Do not use if
Pregnancy
Existing osteoporosis or low bone density, without a plan to manage it
Known hypersensitivity to anastrozole
Pre-existing ischaemic heart disease, where the label notes more ischaemic events on anastrozole than on tamoxifen
Banned in drug-tested sport
Any existing heart valve disease, including valve leaflet thickening seen on an echocardiogram
A history of pericardial, pleural, pulmonary or retroperitoneal fibrosis
Uncontrolled high blood pressure
Known hypersensitivity to ergot derivatives
Suppressing milk production after birth, which the label advises against

What people actually report

Anastrozole

  • It lowers bone mineral density, and the effect showed up within twelve months in the trials.
  • Cholesterol rises. In the ATAC trial 9 percent of women on anastrozole had raised cholesterol against 3.5 percent on tamoxifen.
  • Joint pain and stiffness are the complaints that most often stop people taking it.
  • Banned in drug-tested sport at all times.
Stop and get help if
  • Chest pain, or new breathlessness on exertion
  • A bone fracture from a minor fall or knock

Cabergoline

  • The label asks for an echocardiogram before the first dose, and every 6 to 12 months after it, to look for heart valve damage.
  • Existing valve disease is a contraindication, not a caution.
  • It is an ergot derivative, and fibrosis of the heart, lungs, chest lining and abdomen have all been reported.
  • Compulsive behaviour including gambling and hypersexuality is a documented class effect of dopamine agonists.
Stop and get help if
  • Shortness of breath, difficulty breathing when lying flat, or swelling in the legs
  • Chest pain, or a persistent cough

Side effects are what users and trials report most often, not a complete list. Anything sudden, spreading, or breathing-related is an emergency regardless of which compound caused it.

People also compare

This comparison does not cover cost, long-term safety, or how you personally will respond. Effect figures come from separate trials in different populations and are not always directly comparable to each other. Nothing here is medical advice or a recommendation to use any of these. Talk to a clinician about your own situation.

The published record

What Europe PMC and ClinicalTrials.gov hold for each, on the same rule.

Anastrozole has 500 records to Cabergoline's 483. 204 original human studies against 135. Anastrozole has 493 registered trials to Cabergoline's 83.

Anastrozole: FDA: Category 1, component of an FDA-approved drug

The published record

Research index

3,037

Records indexed for Anastrozole400 papers and 100 trials indexed in detail.

333 in humans, 204 of them original studies.

493 registered trials, 23 with posted results among the 100 indexed.

FDA: Category 1, component of an FDA-approved drug.

Browse the records

In animalsPro
In the labPro
ReviewsPro
Senior author sharePro

Counted from Europe PMC indexing, not read by a person. Human means indexed under humans, which includes reviews and work on human cells. Original studies exclude reviews and lab work on human cells.Last updated 12 September 2026.

The published record

Research index

2,566

Records indexed for Cabergoline400 papers and 83 trials indexed in detail.

260 in humans, 135 of them original studies.

83 registered trials, 11 with posted results.

Browse the records

In animalsPro
In the labPro
ReviewsPro
Senior author sharePro

Counted from Europe PMC indexing, not read by a person. Human means indexed under humans, which includes reviews and work on human cells. Original studies exclude reviews and lab work on human cells.Last updated 12 September 2026.

Commonly confused peptides

Long-form breakdowns of the pairs people confuse most, traced to primary sources.

Growth hormone

HGH vs Sermorelin

Distributing HGH for anti-aging is a federal felony carrying five years. Sermorelin lost to it commercially in 2008 and can still be legally compounded.

Read comparison ›
Muscle

IGF-1 LR3 vs IGF-1 DES

Neither has a single published human trial, and sources give LR3's half-life as anywhere from 6 to 30 hours. There is an FDA approved IGF-1, and it is neither of these.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

Thymosin Alpha-1 vs LL-37

One is approved in 35 countries and its largest trial found nothing. The other has never been injected in a published study.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Cagrilintide vs Semaglutide

Both were tested in the same trial, in the same people, over the same 68 weeks. Semaglutide won on weight, and the combination beat both while coming in below their sum.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Retatrutide vs Tirzepatide

Retatrutide's 28.3 percent is being set against tirzepatide's 22.5 percent. Different trials, different lengths, and one of the numbers comes from a press release.

Read comparison ›
Sexual and hormonal

PT-141 vs Kisspeptin

Both are sold for sex. One works on desire and is FDA approved, the other works on hormones and stops working within two weeks.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

MOTS-c vs SS-31

One has an FDA approval and a failed Phase 3. The other has never been given to a person in a published study.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Tesamorelin vs CJC-1295

Two GHRH analogs tested for the same condition. One completed two Phase 3 trials and got approved. The other's Phase 2 was halted in 2006 and never restarted.

Read comparison ›
Skin and repair

Melanotan I vs Melanotan II

Not two versions of one compound. One is an FDA approved implant for a rare disease, the other is approved nowhere and warned against by four regulators.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

Epitalon vs MOTS-c

Two longevity peptides with no published human trial between them. Epitalon's famous human data belongs to a bovine extract, and MOTS-c is something your body already makes.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

Glutathione vs NAD+

Both are sold as injections. NAD+ cannot enter cells intact, and a six month trial found oral glutathione raising body stores the injection is meant to fix.

Read comparison ›
Cognitive and mood

Semax vs Selank

Same Russian lab, same seven amino acids, built for different problems: Semax for alertness, Selank for anxiety.

Read comparison ›
Skin and repair

GHK-Cu vs Matrixyl

Two topical skin peptides with very different evidence: one carries copper, one carries a fat tail, and the most sold version of Matrixyl is built on the same tripeptide as GHK-Cu.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

BPC-157 vs TB-500

Both are sold for tendon and muscle repair. BPC-157's human trials were enemas for ulcerative colitis, and TB-500's trials did not even use TB-500.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

CJC-1295 with DAC vs without DAC

One name, two drugs: one has a measured half-life and three published human trials, the other has never been tested in a person.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Ipamorelin vs CJC-1295

They act on different receptors and are usually sold in the same vial. Each has human trials; the combination everyone buys has none.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

MK-677 vs Ipamorelin

Same receptor, a pill against an injection. MK-677 has far more human data, and that is exactly why we know more about what is wrong with it.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

KLOW vs GLOW

These are not two products. One contains the other: KLOW is GLOW plus KPV, and neither blend has ever been tested as a blend.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Sermorelin vs Ipamorelin

Two growth hormone peptides sold side by side. One was an approved drug and can still be compounded on prescription. The other was voted down in October 2024.

Read comparison ›

19 published

Compare is one of four tools on the site. See all tools.