There are two, approved three months apart, and they are not the same kind of drug.
The Wegovy pill is semaglutide, the same peptide as the injection, swallowed. It produces more weight loss and it comes with rules: empty stomach, a small sip of water, and half an hour before anything else.
Foundayo is orforglipron, a small molecule that is not a peptide at all. It produces less weight loss and has no rules: any time of day, with or without food.
So one asks more of your morning and gives you more back. The rest of this page is the detail, and which trade suits whom.
The two pills in numbers:
- Approved three months apart: 22 December 2025 and 1 April 2026
- 16.6% against 12.4% weight loss, among those who stayed on treatment
- Both start self-pay at $149 a month
- One needs an empty stomach and a 30-minute wait; the other needs nothing
- 0 listings for oral semaglutide across the 151 sellers we track3
Why one has food rules and the other does not
The difference is not formulation cleverness. It is what the molecules are.
Semaglutide is a peptide, a chain of amino acids, and digestion destroys peptides. Getting one through the stomach intact needs help, and the Wegovy pill uses an absorption enhancer to do it. That is why the timing instructions exist: the enhancer only works in a stomach with nothing else in it.
Orforglipron is a small molecule, the same chemical category as an ordinary painkiller. It survives the stomach without assistance, which is why Foundayo carries no timing instructions at all.
That distinction matters on this site more than most, because it is the same reason almost everything else here arrives as powder in a vial.
Wegovy pill vs Foundayo, side by side
The differences run through dose, results, timing and what else each one is approved for.
| Wegovy pill | Foundayo | |
|---|---|---|
| Molecule | Semaglutide, a peptide | Orforglipron, a small molecule |
| Approved | 22 December 2025 | 1 April 2026 |
| Dose | 1.5 mg escalating to 25 mg once daily | 0.8 mg escalating to 17.2 mg once daily |
| Weight loss, those who stayed on treatment | 16.6% at 64 weeks | 12.4% at 72 weeks |
| Weight loss, everyone regardless | 13.6% | 11.1% |
| Lost at least 20% | about one in three | not reported in these terms |
| Timing | Empty stomach, small sip of water, wait 30 minutes | Any time, with or without food |
| Also approved to reduce cardiovascular events | Yes | No |
From the two approval announcements and their trials.12
The efficacy gap is real: 16.6% against 12.4% on the same estimand, and those trials are similar enough in design that the comparison is less unreliable than most. The convenience gap runs the other way and is not small either, because the Wegovy pill's instructions are strict and people do not follow strict instructions indefinitely.
Which should you ask about?
Not a question anyone can answer from a webpage, but the trade is clear enough to describe.
If you can reliably take a tablet first thing, wait half an hour, and do that every day for a year, the Wegovy pill offers more weight loss and a cardiovascular indication the other does not have.
If your mornings are not like that, Foundayo's lack of rules is worth more than it looks on paper. A drug taken correctly most days beats a better drug taken correctly half the time.
And if you are coming from an injection, neither pill matches tirzepatide, the drug in Mounjaro and Zepbound, which reached about 20.9% at its top dose in its own trial. The Wegovy pill is reported as similar to the Wegovy injection.
Which is easier to tolerate?
Neither is gentle. Compare each drug against its own placebo arm rather than against each other.
| OASIS 4, oral semaglutide 25 mg | Drug | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Any gastrointestinal event | 74.0% | 42.2% |
| Nausea | 46.6% | 18.6% |
| Vomiting | 30.9% | 5.9% |
| Constipation | 20.1% | not stated |
| Stopped because of side effects | 6.9% | 5.9% |
| Serious adverse events | 3.9% | 8.8% |
From OASIS 4, 307 adults over 64 weeks.1
Two things in that table cut against expectation. Nausea at 46.6% is high, and 81.5% of people finished the trial anyway, which tells you most of it was tolerable rather than disabling. And serious adverse events were lower on the drug than on placebo, which is the opposite of what people expect and is a reminder that the placebo arm of an obesity trial is not a healthy population.
For Foundayo, adverse events caused 5.3% to 10.3% of participants to stop depending on dose, against 2.7% on placebo.2 So the stopping rates are broadly similar between the two pills, and in both cases the gut effects cluster during escalation.
Both escalate for about three months before reaching the maintenance dose, which is where most of the trouble happens and where most people quit.
What each one costs
Closer than the marketing suggests, and both launched at the same headline number.
| Wegovy pill | Foundayo | |
|---|---|---|
| Self-pay, starting dose | $149 a month | $149 a month |
| Self-pay, higher doses | $199 to $299 a month | higher than $149, not itemised publicly |
| With commercial insurance | as little as $25 a month | $25 a month with the savings card |
| Launched | 5 January 2026 | 6 April 2026 |
From the two companies' announcements.12
So the choice is not a cheap pill against an expensive one. At the starting dose they are the same price, and at maintenance the Wegovy pill's published tiers run to $299.
Set that against our cost guide, where the same compound ranges from $40 to $1,200 a month depending on how you buy it. Two approved pills at $149 to $299, with a label and a prescriber, now sit inside that range rather than above it.
Is the Wegovy pill the same as Rybelsus?
Same molecule, different product. Clear this up before anything else, because it catches people constantly.
Rybelsus is oral semaglutide too, approved years earlier for type 2 diabetes, at 3, 7 and 14 mg. The Wegovy pill is oral semaglutide for weight management, at a 25 mg maintenance dose. Same drug, different strengths, different indications, different brand.
Four brands now carry the same molecule in the US.
| Brand | Form | Doses | Approved for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ozempic | Weekly injection | 0.25 to 2 mg | Type 2 diabetes |
| Rybelsus | Daily tablet | 3, 7, 14 mg | Type 2 diabetes |
| Wegovy injection | Weekly injection | 0.25 to 2.4 mg | Weight management |
| Wegovy pill | Daily tablet | up to 25 mg | Weight management |
One molecule, two routes, two indications, four products.
This matters when you read dose figures online. A number attached to oral semaglutide might belong to a 14 mg diabetes product or a 25 mg obesity one, and they are not interchangeable.
Why coverage of these two contradicts itself
Search this and you will find both described as the first GLP-1 pill.
Both claims come from the companies, and both are defensible in their own terms. The Wegovy pill was first: approved in December 2025, the first oral GLP-1 for weight management of any kind. Foundayo was the first oral GLP-1 that is not a peptide, and the first with no food or water restrictions.
The shorthand that loses the distinction is "first GLP-1 pill", which is why you will see it attached to both drugs three months apart. If a page uses that phrase without saying which kind of first it means, it has not understood the difference it is reporting.
What this means for the grey market
Less than you would think.
Neither pill has shown up in our capture as an oral product. Across 151 sellers we found no listing for oral semaglutide, and only eight for orforglipron, of which two are vials for a drug that was never injectable.3
The grey market is built around powders and vials, and both of these are finished dosage forms that are harder to counterfeit convincingly and harder to assemble from bulk. That will not hold forever. But for now, the approved pills have no meaningful shadow version, which is unusual in this category.
What has changed is the comparison. A reader weighing an unlabelled vial now has two approved oral options with labels and prescribers, both starting at $149 a month self-pay.
Common questions
Which GLP-1 pill was first?
The Wegovy pill, approved 22 December 2025, was the first oral GLP-1 for weight management. Foundayo, approved 1 April 2026, was the first that is not a peptide and the first without food or water restrictions. Both companies use the word first, meaning different things.
Is the Wegovy pill the same as Rybelsus?
Same molecule at different doses for different purposes. Rybelsus is oral semaglutide for type 2 diabetes at 3, 7 and 14 mg. The Wegovy pill is oral semaglutide for weight management at 25 mg. Four semaglutide brands now exist in the US: Ozempic, Rybelsus, the Wegovy injection and the Wegovy pill.
Which pill works better?
On trial figures, the Wegovy pill: 16.6% at 64 weeks against 12.4% at 72 weeks among those who stayed on treatment. Neither matches injectable tirzepatide at its top dose.
Why does the Wegovy pill have to be taken on an empty stomach?
Because semaglutide is a peptide and digestion destroys peptides. The tablet relies on an absorption enhancer that only works in an empty stomach, which is why the label requires a small sip of water and a wait before eating or drinking anything else.
Does Foundayo have any timing rules?
No. It can be taken at any time of day, with or without food, and with no water restriction, because orforglipron is a small molecule that survives digestion on its own.
Is either one as good as the injection?
Neither matches injectable tirzepatide, which produced about 20.9% at its top dose in its own trial. The Wegovy pill is reported as similar to injectable semaglutide.
How much does the Wegovy pill cost?
The starting dose is $149 a month self-pay, with higher doses at $199 to $299, and as little as $25 a month with commercial insurance. Foundayo starts at the same $149.
Which has worse side effects?
Both are hard during escalation. In OASIS 4, 46.6% of people on the Wegovy pill reported nausea against 18.6% on placebo, and 6.9% stopped because of side effects. For Foundayo, 5.3% to 10.3% stopped depending on dose. The stopping rates are broadly similar.
Can you buy either of these without a prescription?
Not legitimately, and in our September capture no seller listed oral semaglutide at all. Eight listed orforglipron, two of them in vials, which is a format the drug has never had.
Is the Wegovy pill the same drug as the Wegovy injection?
Same molecule, different dose and schedule: 25 mg once daily by mouth against 2.4 mg once weekly by injection. The company reports similar weight loss between them.
Does either reduce heart attack risk?
The Wegovy pill carries an indication for reducing major adverse cardiovascular events. Foundayo does not.
Sources
- Novo Nordisk. Wegovy pill approved in the US as first oral GLP-1 for weight management, 22 December 2025. novonordisk.com. Company announcement. Records approval of once-daily oral semaglutide 25 mg to reduce excess body weight, maintain weight reduction long term, and reduce the risk of major adverse cardiovascular events. OASIS 4 was a 64-week phase 3b trial in 307 adults with obesity or overweight and one or more comorbidities: 16.6% mean weight loss when treatment was adhered to against 2.7% on placebo, 13.6% regardless of discontinuation against 2.4%, with about one in three participants losing at least 20%. The company reports weight loss similar to injectable Wegovy 2.4 mg. Safety from OASIS 4: gastrointestinal events 74.0% against 42.2% on placebo, nausea 46.6% against 18.6%, vomiting 30.9% against 5.9%, constipation 20.1%, discontinuation for adverse events 6.9% against 5.9%, serious adverse events 3.9% against 8.8%, and 81.5% completing treatment. Launch and pricing from the company's availability announcement of 5 January 2026: starting dose 1.5 mg at $149 a month self-pay, the 4 mg dose at $149 then $199, the highest doses at $299, and as little as $25 a month with commercial insurance.
- Eli Lilly. FDA approves Lilly's Foundayo (orforglipron), 1 April 2026, and the Foundayo prescribing information, NDA 220934. accessdata.fda.gov. Approval announcement and label. Tablets 0.8 to 17.2 mg once daily, taken with or without food at any time of day; ATTAIN-1 weight loss of 12.4% at 72 weeks among those remaining on treatment and 11.1% counting all participants. Our dose guide covers the capsule-to-tablet mapping that makes the trial figures look different from the label.
- Peptide Decoding vendor price capture, 29 September 2026. peptidedecoding.com/prices. Our own data, counting one priced product at one seller as a listing: 7,534 listings across 151 sellers. No listing for oral semaglutide in any form. Eight orforglipron listings across eight sellers: five capsules, two vials and one tablet.
Citing this page. Peptide Decoding. Wegovy Pill vs Foundayo: The Two GLP-1 Pills Compared. Trial and label figures as cited; listing data from the 29 September 2026 capture. https://peptidedecoding.com/guides/glp-1-pills-compared

