No study has ever measured sleep in a person taking it.
The FDA reviewed Epitalon for insomnia in July 2026. It searched the literature first, and found three studies in which Epitalon had been given to people. Two gave it as a spray under the tongue to night-shift workers, and tracked circadian genes and a melatonin by-product in urine. The third injected it behind the eye to treat an inherited eye disease.1
None of the three measured sleep.
The agency's own conclusion was blunt. In its words, there is a lack of evidence to support effectiveness for insomnia. It also found no study of these substances in people who had insomnia, least of all by the injected route that buyers use.1
So neither question people ask has an answer. One is whether sleep gets better during a course. The other is whether any of it holds once the course ends.
There is also a finding in that document that cuts against the whole reason people buy Epitalon. Its selling point is that it lengthens telomeres, the caps on the ends of chromosomes. The FDA's reviewers treat long telomeres as a cancer concern, and they say so in the same document.1
What are the three human studies?
All three are named below, with what each one measured. The FDA found them by searching PubMed, Embase, the Cochrane database, ClinicalTrials.gov and others.1
| Study | Route | People | What it measured |
|---|---|---|---|
| Khavinson et al. 2021 | Sublingual | Night-shift workers | Expression of circadian genes |
| Ivko et al. 2021 | Sublingual | 75 women aged 40 to 50, mostly night-shift | Urinary 6-sulfatoxymelatonin, a melatonin metabolite |
| Khavinson et al. 2002 | Parabulbar injection, behind the eye | Patients with congenital retinitis pigmentosa | Retinal condition |
Those three are the complete human record for Epitalon as the FDA found it.
The only placebo-controlled one needs setting out in full, because it is the study every claim traces back to.
Ivko and colleagues took 75 healthy women aged 40 to 50, mostly night-shift workers, and split them by their urinary melatonin metabolite level. Thirty-five had an age-appropriate normal value and served as a reference. Forty had levels described as being at the level of elderly people, and those forty were divided into two groups of twenty. One group received a saline placebo spray three times, twice daily, for 20 days. The other received Epitalon by the same schedule, 0.5 mg a day.1
The result: the metabolite rose 1.7-fold in the Epitalon group and did not change on placebo.
The FDA lists the limitations itself. The publication did not specify blinding. The study was short and small. It was given under the tongue, not injected. In the agency's words, it did not evaluate sleep outcomes and did not discuss clinical applicability or potential therapeutic effect for insomnia or other sleep disorders.1
A urine metabolite went up. Nobody asked the participants how they slept.
Does sleep improve during a course?
No answer exists, and not because the studies came out negative. Nobody looked.
There is no human study of Epitalon with a sleep endpoint, by any route. No sleep diaries, no questionnaires, no polysomnography, the overnight recording done in a sleep lab, and no actigraphy, the wrist-worn movement tracking used as a cheaper stand-in for it.
The animal work does not fill the gap either. The FDA states it identified no nonclinical studies assessing the effects of epitalon on behavioural or electroencephalographic endpoints of sleep.1 So the gap is not a human-trial gap. Sleep has not been measured in animals either.
What exists instead is a chain of inference: Epitalon changes a melatonin by-product, melatonin regulates the sleep-wake cycle, so Epitalon should improve sleep. That is a reasonable thing to hope for, and this page will say so plainly, because a 1.7-fold shift in a hormone by-product is a real biological signal and not a rounding error. The FDA names the weak link anyway: the potential therapeutic effect of changes in melatonin levels induced by these substances is unclear without a corresponding evaluation of clinical outcomes.1
One in-vitro result complicates even the first step. Pineal glands taken from young and old rats and bathed in Epitalon solution did not release more melatonin.1 So the mechanism may not be a direct effect on the gland at all, and the FDA states that how Epitalon regulates melatonin levels in living animals remains unknown.
Does the effect last after a course ends?
Nothing has been reported, because nothing was measured in the first place.
Persistence is a question about an effect. No sleep effect has been measured in any study, so no study could have measured whether it faded. The longest human exposure in the record is 20 days, in the sublingual study that did not look at sleep.
The idea that Epitalon works in cycles with benefits lasting months comes from marketing rather than from research. The FDA notes that websites selling it recommend cycles, with one suggesting a course every four months.1 Those recommendations are not derived from any study of duration, because none exists.
Our guide on whether DSIP improves deep sleep covers a compound in a similar position with one important difference: DSIP has human sleep trials, and they failed. Epitalon has none at all.
What do people report?
People do report effects. Those reports are a different kind of information from the research above, so they sit on their own here.
Accounts fall into a few patterns: sleep that feels deeper or less broken during a course, vivid or unusually memorable dreams, nothing noticeable at all even after a full three-week course, and a recurring question about whether whatever did happen holds once the course ends.
Those reports are not evidence about the compound, and they are not nothing either. They are what people experienced. What this page can tell you is that no study measured any of it, so there is no trial result to set against them in either direction.
The vivid dreams report is the one most often cited back as confirmation, usually on the reasoning that melatonin affects dreaming. No study of Epitalon has measured dreaming, and the melatonin link runs back through the unmeasured chain set out above.
Is Epitalon safe for long-term use?
Unknown, and the FDA's concern sits in the carcinogenicity section, where it concerns the compound's main selling point.
Epitalon is sold for anti-aging and longevity on the basis that it activates telomerase and lengthens telomeres. The FDA does not dispute that. It cites that literature itself.
Then it says this: "long telomeres (generally >0.7x standard deviations of the mean lengths) have been associated with increased risks for malignant tumors", and that chronic continuous exposure to Epitalon, by upregulating telomerase and extending telomeres past the boundary at which cells become immortalised, could result in carcinogenicity.1 The threshold is quoted as the document writes it, because "0.7x standard deviations of the mean lengths" can be read more than one way and the document does not resolve it.
The mechanism being sold as anti-ageing is the mechanism the agency flags as a potential cancer risk. The sales pitch and the safety concern are one claim pointed in two directions.
The FDA adds that it identified no two-year carcinogenicity studies for either form of Epitalon, and that the animal studies that do exist used a fixed dose, female mice only, and intermittent exposure totalling about five and a half months. That is too short to detect carcinogenic potential.1
That is not a finding that Epitalon causes cancer. It is a finding that the question has not been asked, in a compound whose selling point is a mechanism that raises it.
What about all the human research people cite?
Most of it is about a different substance.
Epithalamin is a polypeptide complex extracted from cattle pineal glands. Epitalon, also spelled Epithalon, is a synthetic four-amino-acid peptide based on it. The two spellings are the same compound; Epithalamin is a different one. The FDA states plainly that it considers epitalon and epithalamin different substances, and that epithalamin is not listed as a synonym for epitalon in its own substance registry.1
This matters because of what the nominators submitted. Of the 23 articles reviewed in support of the nomination, the FDA records that seven discussed epithalamin rather than epitalon, and that none of the submitted articles discussed the use of epitalon.1 Seven of 23 is close to a third of the supporting literature being about a different substance.
So when a page cites decades of Russian human research on pineal peptides, a large part of that research is on a bovine gland extract, not on the tetrapeptide in the vial.
What are the side effects of Epitalon?
The FDA review identified no clinical safety studies or adverse event reports. That says less than it sounds, in both directions.
Three separate gaps sit behind that. The FDA states its literature search did not identify clinical studies assessing the safety of Epitalon in humans, and that no pharmacokinetic data exist for either form, so nothing is known about where it goes in the body or how long it stays. It also searched its adverse event reporting system through December 8, 2025 and retrieved no reports, and found none in its food and supplement complaint system either.1
That last one is easy to misread. An absence of reports in a system that depends on voluntary reporting, for a compound bought from research sellers by people who are unlikely to file a federal adverse event report, is not evidence of safety. The FDA says as much about its own database.
The route is the specific gap. Most listings are injection vials. No human study used that route for sleep, and the agency says it "is concerned about their potential for immunogenicity when administered by an injection ROA as proposed", because subcutaneous delivery "may present a particular risk for immunogenicity due to the potential for aggregation as well as potential peptide-related impurities".1 Immunogenicity means the chance the body mounts an immune response against the peptide itself. Aggregation and peptide-related impurities are what our guide to what 99% purity actually means covers, and the FDA adds that it found insufficient data to conclude those risks do not exist here.
What is actually being sold?
Injection vials, in quantity, and no human study used that format.
Epitalon appears in 148 listings across 104 sellers in our October 11, 2026 capture. 141 of those are vials. The most common stated sizes are 10 mg and 50 mg.2
The FDA came at this from the other direction. It searched and could not identify any pharmacy that compounds Epitalon, while finding numerous websites selling 10, 20, 25 and 50 mg vials, capsules and an oral spray, several stating the product is for research use only.1
What dose and route were actually studied?
0.5 mg a day, sublingually. That is neither the dose nor the route most people use, and the FDA document records both sides.
The study dose was 0.5 mg a day under the tongue, in the only placebo-controlled human study.1
What is sold and recommended is something else. The FDA surveyed the websites selling Epitalon and records doses ranging from 5 mg to 10 mg per day, typically as subcutaneous injection, with cycling recommended by several sites.1 The nominated products were 10 mg/mL and 3,000 mcg/mL for subcutaneous injection.
So the common protocol runs roughly ten to twenty times the studied dose, by a route no study has used for this purpose, over a duration no study has covered.
None of that means the larger dose does less or more. It means the one human result anyone can point to came out of conditions almost no one buying Epitalon reproduces.
Did the FDA back it?
No, its own staff proposed against. If you have seen the July vote called a green light, this is the part left out.
The FDA's own scientific staff concluded that "a balancing of the criteria weighs against epitalon (free base) or epitalon acetate being placed on that list", the 503A Bulks List being the roster of ingredients a licensed pharmacy is allowed to compound with. The reasons given were poor physicochemical characterisation, limited information on historical use, lack of evidence of effectiveness for insomnia, and lack of safety data.1
On July 24, 2026 the advisory committee recommended adding it.
An advisory committee recommendation is not binding, and the FDA states it is not legally required to follow one. Our coverage of the compounding plan reported since covers what that vote does and does not change.
One detail from the document is easy to miss. The nominations for Epitalon were withdrawn by the nominators, and the FDA evaluated the substances at its own discretion anyway.1 So the agency assessed a compound no one was actively asking it to approve, concluded against it, and then received a contrary, non-binding recommendation from its advisory panel.
When do sleep problems need more than a peptide?
This is separate from the evidence question, and more urgent.
Loud snoring, waking unrefreshed however long you sleep, or being told you stop breathing at night. Sleep apnoea is common, treatable and routinely missed.
Insomnia lasting more than three months. There is a specific non-drug treatment for that and it has a name worth asking for: cognitive behavioural therapy for insomnia, usually written CBT-I. The American College of Physicians recommends that all adult patients receive it as the initial treatment for chronic insomnia, a strong recommendation on moderate-quality evidence.3 It is a structured course rather than counselling, it is delivered in person, by phone or through an app, and most people who have had insomnia for years have never been offered it.
New early waking with low mood, or sleep that changed suddenly without an obvious cause.
Anything leaving you unsafe to drive.
Common questions
Is Epithalon the same as Epitalon?
Yes. Epitalon and Epithalon are two spellings of the same synthetic four-amino-acid peptide. Epithalamin is a different substance, an extract from cattle pineal glands, and the FDA treats the two as separate.
How long does Epitalon take to work?
No study has measured any sleep effect, so there is no onset to report. The longest human exposure in the published record is 20 days, and that study measured a urine metabolite, not sleep.
What are the side effects of Epitalon?
The FDA review identified no clinical safety studies or adverse event reports, and no pharmacokinetic data exist. The FDA found no adverse event reports in its databases, and says itself that this is not evidence of safety for a compound bought from research sellers.
Does Epitalon improve sleep?
Nobody has measured it. The FDA's 2026 review found three studies in which Epitalon was given to humans, none of which measured sleep, and states it identified no studies evaluating it in patients with insomnia.
Did the FDA approve Epitalon for insomnia?
No. An advisory committee recommended it for the compounding list on July 24, 2026. A committee recommendation is not drug approval. The FDA's own staff proposed against adding it, citing lack of evidence of effectiveness, lack of safety data, poor characterisation and immunogenicity concerns.
Does the sleep benefit last after a course?
There is nothing to report, because no sleep effect has been measured in any study. The longest human exposure in the record is 20 days, and that study did not look at sleep.
What did the one placebo-controlled study find?
A urinary melatonin metabolite rose 1.7-fold in 20 women given sublingual Epitalon for 20 days, against no change on placebo. The FDA notes the publication did not specify blinding, and that the study did not evaluate sleep outcomes.
Is Epitalon the same as Epithalamin?
No, and the FDA says so explicitly. Epithalamin is an extract from cattle pineal glands; Epitalon is a synthetic four-amino-acid peptide based on it. Much of the human research people cite for Epitalon is actually on Epithalamin.
Is Epitalon safe?
No study has assessed its safety in humans, and there are no pharmacokinetic data for either form. The two specific gaps the FDA names are the injection route, flagged for immunogenicity risk, and carcinogenicity, never tested over the two years such a study takes.
Does Epitalon cause cancer?
Unknown, and the FDA raises it as a concern rather than a finding. Telomere lengthening is the mechanism it is sold for and the mechanism the agency flags, because long telomeres are associated with increased cancer risk. No two-year carcinogenicity study exists.
What dose was actually studied?
0.5 mg a day, sublingually, for 20 days. Websites selling Epitalon recommend 5 to 10 mg a day by subcutaneous injection, a figure the FDA documented in its own review. That is roughly ten to twenty times the studied dose, by a route no study has used for sleep.
If the FDA was against it, why did the committee recommend it?
The agency's scientific staff proposed not adding Epitalon to the compounding list, citing poor characterisation, no evidence of effectiveness for insomnia and no safety data. The advisory committee recommended adding it on July 24, 2026. Committee recommendations are not binding and the FDA is not required to follow them.
What actually works for long-term insomnia?
Cognitive behavioural therapy for insomnia, usually written CBT-I. The American College of Physicians recommends that all adults with chronic insomnia receive it as the initial treatment, a strong recommendation on moderate-quality evidence. It is a structured programme rather than general counselling, and it is available in person, by phone and through apps. Most people who have had insomnia for years have never been offered it. That is worth raising with a clinician before buying anything in a vial.
Why do people say it helps them sleep?
We cannot say, and no study provides an explanation. What can be said is that no sleep outcome has been measured in any human or animal study of this compound.
Sources
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, July 23-24, 2026: Evaluation of Epitalon-Related Bulk Drug Substances (Epitalon Free Base and Epitalon Acetate) for Inclusion on the 503A Bulk Drug Substances List. Memorandum dated May 12, 2026. fda.gov. Primary source. Evaluated for the use of insomnia; proposed products are 10 mg/mL and 3,000 mcg/mL for subcutaneous injection. States that three studies were found in which epitalon was administered to humans: two sublingual studies in night-shift workers examining circadian gene expression (Khavinson et al. 2021) and excretion of 6-sulfatoxymelatonin (Ivko et al. 2021), and one parabulbar injection study in congenital retinitis pigmentosa (Khavinson et al. 2002b). Describes the Ivko study: 75 healthy women aged 40 to 50 primarily working night shifts, 35 with age-appropriate 6-SMT as control and 40 with reduced levels split into 20 receiving saline placebo and 20 receiving sublingual AEDG at 0.5 mg/day for 20 days; 6-SMT rose 1.7-fold in the treated group and did not change on placebo; FDA notes the publication did not specify blinding, that limitations include short duration and small size, and that the study did not evaluate sleep outcomes and did not discuss clinical applicability or potential therapeutic effect for insomnia or other sleep disorders. States that FDA identified no nonclinical pharmacological study assessing the effects of epitalon on sleep, and no nonclinical studies assessing behavioural or electroencephalographic endpoints of sleep. Cites Djeridane et al. 2003, in which pineal glands from young and old rats superfused with epitalon at 1, 10 or 100 micromolar failed to increase melatonin release, and states that the mechanisms by which epitalon regulates melatonin in vivo remain unknown. On carcinogenicity: states, quoted as written, that "long telomeres (generally >0.7x standard deviations of the mean lengths) have been associated with increased risks for malignant tumors"; the phrasing is ambiguous in the document and is not clarified there, so this page does not render it as "above the mean"; that chronic continuous exposure to epitalon by upregulating telomerase and extending telomeres beyond the boundary for immortalisation could result in carcinogenicity, that no two-year carcinogenicity studies were identified, and that existing animal studies used a fixed dose, female mice only, and exposure of about 22 weeks. States that FDA considers epitalon and epithalamin different substances, that seven of the 23 reviewed articles discussed epithalamin rather than epitalon, and that none of the submitted articles discussed use of epitalon in a compounded product. States no pharmacokinetic data were found for either form, that no clinical studies assessing safety in humans were identified, and that searches of the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System through December 8, 2025 and the Human Foods Complaint System through December 5, 2025 retrieved no reports. Notes the nominations were withdrawn and that FDA evaluated the substances at its own discretion. FDA's conclusion proposes not adding epitalon free base or epitalon acetate to the 503A Bulks List.
- Peptide Decoding vendor price capture, October 11, 2026. peptidedecoding.com/prices/epitalon. Our own data, counting one priced product at one seller as a listing. Epitalon appears in 148 listings across 104 sellers: 141 vials, 3 capsules, 1 nasal spray, 1 spray, 1 solution, 1 tablet. Most common stated vial sizes are 10 mg and 50 mg.
- Qaseem A, Kansagara D, Forciea MA, Cooke M, Denberg TD. Management of chronic insomnia disorder in adults: a clinical practice guideline from the American College of Physicians. Annals of Internal Medicine 2016;165(2):125-133. PMID 27136449. doi:10.7326/M15-2175. PubMed-indexed abstract verified through Europe PMC: based on a systematic review of English-language randomised controlled trials published from 2004 through September 2015. Recommendation 1 states that ACP recommends all adult patients receive cognitive behavioural therapy for insomnia as the initial treatment for chronic insomnia disorder, graded a strong recommendation on moderate-quality evidence. Recommendation 2 advises a shared decision-making approach on whether to add medication when CBT-I alone has not worked. Cited here only to name the first-line treatment for chronic insomnia, which this page previously referred to without naming.
Citing this page. Peptide Decoding. Does Epitalon Actually Improve Sleep? Evidence summary from the FDA briefing document of May 12, 2026; listing data from the October 11, 2026 capture. https://peptidedecoding.com/guides/does-epitalon-improve-sleep

