Peptide Decoding
Two peptide vials side by side on a dark surface
Step 02 / Compare

Compare peptides side by side

Type two or more compounds the way you'd type them into Google. Spelling doesn't have to be right.

2/4

Separate them with vs, a comma, or +. Up to 4 compounds.

Try

Urolithin A and Nicotinamide Riboside are each a small molecule rather than a peptide.

/compare/urolithin-a-vs-nicotinamide-riboside
ComparisonUrolithin A
Mitopure · UA
Nicotinamide Riboside (NR)
NR · Niagen
How it works
How it works

Urolithin A is not in the fruit. Your gut makes it, if you have the right bacteria.

How it works

NR enters the same salvage pathway as NMN, one step earlier.

What it is
The mitophagy supplement with two real trials, both of which missed.
The NAD+ precursor that kept its paperwork in order.
Status
Sold over the counterSupplement
Sold over the counterSupplement
Typical dose
500–1000 mg per day
300–1000 mg per day
How often
Daily
Daily
Stays active
Around 20 hours as the conjugated form
Short, with the NAD+ effect outlasting it
Dose comes from
Clinical trial protocol
Clinical trial protocol
Cycled?
Continuous in the trials Clinical trial protocol
Continuous in the trials Clinical trial protocol
What it does
Drug class
Gut metabolite (oral, not a peptide)
NAD+ precursor, vitamin B3 form (not a peptide)
Used for
An oral supplement taken for muscle and mitochondrial ageing, with the most human data of any longevity compound sold this way.
An oral NAD+ precursor with the cleanest US regulatory position of the group, and the same open question about whether raising NAD+ does anything you would notice.
Receptors hit
Numbers
Full dose line
500 up to 1,000 mg per day
300 up to 1,000 mg per day
Why that cycle
Both randomised trials dosed daily for four months with no break. Nothing has tested whether the mitophagy effect persists after stopping, or whether cycling changes anything.
Trials dose daily for weeks to months without a break, and blood NAD+ returns toward baseline after stopping. No study supports cycling.
Weight / effect
Not measured in a trial
Not measured in a trial
Chain length
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Common vial
Before you start
Route
By mouth (oral)
By mouth (oral)
Do not use if
Pregnancy and breastfeeding, on absent data rather than known harm
Any active cancer, since mitophagy effects on tumour cells are not characterised
Children, who were not studied
Pregnancy and breastfeeding, on absent data
Active cancer, for the same unsettled reason as the rest of this family
Children, who have not been studied

What people actually report

Urolithin A

  • Both randomised trials missed the endpoint they were designed around, which is not how the 12 percent strength figure is usually presented.
  • Both were funded by Amazentis, the company that sells it, with company employees as authors.
  • Roughly 60 to 70 percent of people cannot make meaningful amounts of it from food, because the gut bacteria required are not universal.
Stop and get help if
  • Persistent stomach pain or diarrhoea
  • Any new or unexplained symptom that starts after beginning it

Nicotinamide Riboside (NR)

  • The safety file is genuinely good for a supplement, and that is a separate question from whether it works.
  • Almost all of the published trial evidence is on one company's ingredient, funded by that company.
  • Trials reliably raise blood NAD+. Functional outcomes are much less consistent.
Stop and get help if
  • Persistent nausea or stomach pain
  • Any new or unexplained symptom that starts after beginning it

Side effects are what users and trials report most often, not a complete list. Anything sudden, spreading, or breathing-related is an emergency regardless of which compound caused it.

People also compare

This comparison does not cover cost, long-term safety, or how you personally will respond. Effect figures come from separate trials in different populations and are not always directly comparable to each other. Nothing here is medical advice or a recommendation to use any of these. Talk to a clinician about your own situation.

The published record

What Europe PMC and ClinicalTrials.gov hold for each, on the same rule.

Urolithin A has 435 records to Nicotinamide Riboside (NR)'s 500. 123 original human studies against 91. Urolithin A has 35 registered trials to Nicotinamide Riboside (NR)'s 124.

The published record

Research index

996

Records indexed for Urolithin A400 papers and 35 trials indexed in detail.

206 in humans, 123 of them original studies.

35 registered trials, 2 with posted results.

Browse the records

In animalsPro
In the labPro
ReviewsPro
Senior author sharePro

Counted from Europe PMC indexing, not read by a person. Human means indexed under humans, which includes reviews and work on human cells. Original studies exclude reviews and lab work on human cells.Last updated 11 September 2026.

The published record

Research index

1,169

Records indexed for Nicotinamide Riboside (NR)400 papers and 100 trials indexed in detail.

236 in humans, 91 of them original studies.

124 registered trials, 16 with posted results among the 100 indexed.

Browse the records

In animalsPro
In the labPro
ReviewsPro
Senior author sharePro

Counted from Europe PMC indexing, not read by a person. Human means indexed under humans, which includes reviews and work on human cells. Original studies exclude reviews and lab work on human cells.Last updated 12 September 2026.

Commonly confused peptides

Long-form breakdowns of the pairs people confuse most, traced to primary sources.

Growth hormone

HGH vs Sermorelin

Distributing HGH for anti-aging is a federal felony carrying five years. Sermorelin lost to it commercially in 2008 and can still be legally compounded.

Read comparison ›
Muscle

IGF-1 LR3 vs IGF-1 DES

Neither has a single published human trial, and sources give LR3's half-life as anywhere from 6 to 30 hours. There is an FDA approved IGF-1, and it is neither of these.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

Thymosin Alpha-1 vs LL-37

One is approved in 35 countries and its largest trial found nothing. The other has never been injected in a published study.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Cagrilintide vs Semaglutide

Both were tested in the same trial, in the same people, over the same 68 weeks. Semaglutide won on weight, and the combination beat both while coming in below their sum.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Retatrutide vs Tirzepatide

Retatrutide's 28.3 percent is being set against tirzepatide's 22.5 percent. Different trials, different lengths, and one of the numbers comes from a press release.

Read comparison ›
Sexual and hormonal

PT-141 vs Kisspeptin

Both are sold for sex. One works on desire and is FDA approved, the other works on hormones and stops working within two weeks.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

MOTS-c vs SS-31

One has an FDA approval and a failed Phase 3. The other has never been given to a person in a published study.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Tesamorelin vs CJC-1295

Two GHRH analogs tested for the same condition. One completed two Phase 3 trials and got approved. The other's Phase 2 was halted in 2006 and never restarted.

Read comparison ›
Skin and repair

Melanotan I vs Melanotan II

Not two versions of one compound. One is an FDA approved implant for a rare disease, the other is approved nowhere and warned against by four regulators.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

Epitalon vs MOTS-c

Two longevity peptides with no published human trial between them. Epitalon's famous human data belongs to a bovine extract, and MOTS-c is something your body already makes.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

Glutathione vs NAD+

Both are sold as injections. NAD+ cannot enter cells intact, and a six month trial found oral glutathione raising body stores the injection is meant to fix.

Read comparison ›
Cognitive and mood

Semax vs Selank

Same Russian lab, same seven amino acids, built for different problems: Semax for alertness, Selank for anxiety.

Read comparison ›
Skin and repair

GHK-Cu vs Matrixyl

Two topical skin peptides with very different evidence: one carries copper, one carries a fat tail, and the most sold version of Matrixyl is built on the same tripeptide as GHK-Cu.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

BPC-157 vs TB-500

Both are sold for tendon and muscle repair. BPC-157's human trials were enemas for ulcerative colitis, and TB-500's trials did not even use TB-500.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

CJC-1295 with DAC vs without DAC

One name, two drugs: one has a measured half-life and three published human trials, the other has never been tested in a person.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Ipamorelin vs CJC-1295

They act on different receptors and are usually sold in the same vial. Each has human trials; the combination everyone buys has none.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

MK-677 vs Ipamorelin

Same receptor, a pill against an injection. MK-677 has far more human data, and that is exactly why we know more about what is wrong with it.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

KLOW vs GLOW

These are not two products. One contains the other: KLOW is GLOW plus KPV, and neither blend has ever been tested as a blend.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Sermorelin vs Ipamorelin

Two growth hormone peptides sold side by side. One was an approved drug and can still be compounded on prescription. The other was voted down in October 2024.

Read comparison ›

19 published

Compare is one of four tools on the site. See all tools.