Peptide Decoding
Two peptide vials side by side on a dark surface
Step 02 / Compare

Compare peptides side by side

Type two or more compounds the way you'd type them into Google. Spelling doesn't have to be right.

2/4

Separate them with vs, a comma, or +. Up to 4 compounds.

Try

Apitegromab and Trevogrumab are each a myostatin antibody.

/compare/apitegromab-vs-trevogrumab
ComparisonApitegromab
Apitegromab · SRK-015
Trevogrumab
Trevogrumab · anti-GDF8
How it works
How it works

Myostatin is your body's brake on muscle growth. Blocking it lets muscle hold on better. The clever part of this one is which form of myostatin it grabs.

How it works

Trevogrumab blocks myostatin, the brake on muscle growth. The interesting part of this trial is what happened when a second brake was blocked at the same time.

What it is
An antibody tested to stop GLP-1 weight loss taking muscle along with fat.
A myostatin antibody trialled with semaglutide, where the three-drug version got dangerous.
Status
In trialsInvestigational
In trialsInvestigational
Typical dose
10 mg/kg per dose
single fixed dose
200–400 mg per dose
How often
Monthly
In the trial schedule
Stays active
24 to 31 days
Not established
Dose comes from
Clinical trial protocol
Clinical trial protocol
Cycled?
Given for the length of the trial, with no cycling Clinical trial protocol
Given through a 26-week weight-loss phase, then a 26-week holding phase Clinical trial protocol
What it does
Drug class
Myostatin antibody
Myostatin antibody
Used for
An experimental antibody given alongside a weight-loss drug, to keep more muscle while still losing fat.
An experimental antibody given alongside semaglutide, to lose more fat and less muscle.
Receptors hit
Numbers
Full dose line
10 mg/kg per month (trial dose)
200 or 400 mg (trial doses)
Why that cycle
The 24-week trial ran without a break. Nothing is known about what happens to the muscle that was preserved once the drug stops.
The trial design splits into losing weight and then keeping it off. The second half is testing whether the drug alone holds the result, and those results are not out yet.
Weight / effect
Not measured in a trial
Not measured in a trial
Chain length
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Common vial
Before you start
Route
Into a vein
Into a vein
Do not use if
Not available outside a clinical trial
Pregnancy
No safety record outside the trial setting
Not available outside a clinical trial
Pregnancy
No safety record outside the trial setting

What separates them

Staying on it. Apitegromab is taken continuously. Trevogrumab is normally run in blocks with breaks, though for this one the block length is convention rather than a tested schedule.

What doesn't differ: They are both taken the same way (into a vein) and aimed at the same thing (fat loss + muscle). Neither has a measured effect size from a published trial, so there is no number to rank them on.

Difference map
Each column keeps its compound color below. A shared gray row means the same answer; colored cells show where they split.
Apitegromab
Trevogrumab
CYCLING
Continuous
Cycled

What people actually report

Apitegromab

  • Only tested in trials, and only alongside tirzepatide.
  • People kept more muscle but lost slightly less total weight.
Stop and get help if
  • Signs of an allergic reaction during or after an infusion
  • Anything unusual, since the safety record is short

Trevogrumab

  • Only tested in trials, and only alongside semaglutide.
  • The three-drug version of the trial had two deaths and far more dropouts.
Stop and get help if
  • Signs of an allergic reaction during or after an infusion
  • Anything unusual, since the safety record is short

Side effects are what users and trials report most often, not a complete list. Anything sudden, spreading, or breathing-related is an emergency regardless of which compound caused it.

People also compare

This comparison does not cover cost, long-term safety, or how you personally will respond. Effect figures come from separate trials in different populations and are not always directly comparable to each other. Nothing here is medical advice or a recommendation to use any of these. Talk to a clinician about your own situation.

The published record

What Europe PMC and ClinicalTrials.gov hold for each, on the same rule.

Apitegromab has 23 records to Trevogrumab's 14. 7 original human studies against 1. Apitegromab has 7 registered trials to Trevogrumab's 8.

The published record

Research index

23

Records indexed for Apitegromab

17 in humans, 7 of them original studies.

7 registered trials, 1 with posted results.

Browse the records

In animalsPro
In the labPro
ReviewsPro
Senior author sharePro

Counted from Europe PMC indexing, not read by a person. Human means indexed under humans, which includes reviews and work on human cells. Original studies exclude reviews and lab work on human cells.Last updated 11 September 2026.

The published record

Research index

14

Records indexed for Trevogrumab

12 in humans, 1 of them original studies.

8 registered trials, 0 with posted results.

Browse the records

In animalsPro
In the labPro
ReviewsPro
Senior author sharePro

Counted from Europe PMC indexing, not read by a person. Human means indexed under humans, which includes reviews and work on human cells. Original studies exclude reviews and lab work on human cells.Last updated 12 September 2026.

Commonly confused peptides

Long-form breakdowns of the pairs people confuse most, traced to primary sources.

Growth hormone

HGH vs Sermorelin

Distributing HGH for anti-aging is a federal felony carrying five years. Sermorelin lost to it commercially in 2008 and can still be legally compounded.

Read comparison ›
Muscle

IGF-1 LR3 vs IGF-1 DES

Neither has a single published human trial, and sources give LR3's half-life as anywhere from 6 to 30 hours. There is an FDA approved IGF-1, and it is neither of these.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

Thymosin Alpha-1 vs LL-37

One is approved in 35 countries and its largest trial found nothing. The other has never been injected in a published study.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Cagrilintide vs Semaglutide

Both were tested in the same trial, in the same people, over the same 68 weeks. Semaglutide won on weight, and the combination beat both while coming in below their sum.

Read comparison ›
Metabolic and weight loss

Retatrutide vs Tirzepatide

Retatrutide's 28.3 percent is being set against tirzepatide's 22.5 percent. Different trials, different lengths, and one of the numbers comes from a press release.

Read comparison ›
Sexual and hormonal

PT-141 vs Kisspeptin

Both are sold for sex. One works on desire and is FDA approved, the other works on hormones and stops working within two weeks.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

MOTS-c vs SS-31

One has an FDA approval and a failed Phase 3. The other has never been given to a person in a published study.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Tesamorelin vs CJC-1295

Two GHRH analogs tested for the same condition. One completed two Phase 3 trials and got approved. The other's Phase 2 was halted in 2006 and never restarted.

Read comparison ›
Skin and repair

Melanotan I vs Melanotan II

Not two versions of one compound. One is an FDA approved implant for a rare disease, the other is approved nowhere and warned against by four regulators.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

Epitalon vs MOTS-c

Two longevity peptides with no published human trial between them. Epitalon's famous human data belongs to a bovine extract, and MOTS-c is something your body already makes.

Read comparison ›
Longevity

Glutathione vs NAD+

Both are sold as injections. NAD+ cannot enter cells intact, and a six month trial found oral glutathione raising body stores the injection is meant to fix.

Read comparison ›
Cognitive and mood

Semax vs Selank

Same Russian lab, same seven amino acids, built for different problems: Semax for alertness, Selank for anxiety.

Read comparison ›
Skin and repair

GHK-Cu vs Matrixyl

Two topical skin peptides with very different evidence: one carries copper, one carries a fat tail, and the most sold version of Matrixyl is built on the same tripeptide as GHK-Cu.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

BPC-157 vs TB-500

Both are sold for tendon and muscle repair. BPC-157's human trials were enemas for ulcerative colitis, and TB-500's trials did not even use TB-500.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

CJC-1295 with DAC vs without DAC

One name, two drugs: one has a measured half-life and three published human trials, the other has never been tested in a person.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Ipamorelin vs CJC-1295

They act on different receptors and are usually sold in the same vial. Each has human trials; the combination everyone buys has none.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

MK-677 vs Ipamorelin

Same receptor, a pill against an injection. MK-677 has far more human data, and that is exactly why we know more about what is wrong with it.

Read comparison ›
Healing and recovery

KLOW vs GLOW

These are not two products. One contains the other: KLOW is GLOW plus KPV, and neither blend has ever been tested as a blend.

Read comparison ›
Growth hormone

Sermorelin vs Ipamorelin

Two growth hormone peptides sold side by side. One was an approved drug and can still be compounded on prescription. The other was voted down in October 2024.

Read comparison ›

19 published

Compare is one of four tools on the site. See all tools.